1. Scroll
  2. /
  3. Guides
  4. /
  5. What are the ranks in CS: GO and how do they work?


09.06.2022 14:33

What are the ranks in CS: GO and how do they work?


Ranks in CS: GO without secrets. How to climb the rank ladder in Counter Strike? What ranks are there in CS: GO? All you need to know in one place.

Ranks in CS: GO – what are they?

Ranks CS: GO are a system implemented to assess the skills of players. Its goal is to select players for individual teams during the games in ranked modes in such a way that the teams are balanced and have relatively equal chances of winning. 

At the very start of your adventure with Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, you won’t have any rank. A rank will be given to you only after you have played a certain number of matches, so that the system can assess your skills and assign you the right “patch”.

The ranks in CS: GO are assigned in three separate game modes.

  1. Tournament (5v5 teams), 
  2. Wingman (2v2) 
  3. Danger Zone (18 players or 9 teams) 

For the first two modes the rank ladder consists of 18 different ranks. The Danger Zone offers only 15 of them. You gain rank for each of the game modes separately. Depending on your performances in a given type of game, you may find that you have three completely different ranks. 

cs go ranks

All ranks in CS: GO

The list below presents all the ranks for Tournament and Wingman modes. There were not many changes to this ladder since it was set up. They are listed from lowest to highest.

  1. Silver I
  2. Silver II
  3. Silver III
  4. Silver IV
  5. Silver Elite
  6. Silver Elite Master
  7. Gold Nova I
  8. Gold Nova II
  9. Gold Nova III
  10. Gold Nova Master
  11. Master Guardian I
  12. Master Guardian II
  13. Master Guardian Elite
  14. Distinguished Master Guardian
  15. Legendary Eagle
  16. Legendary Eagle Master
  17. Supreme Master First Class
  18. Global Elite

What are the ranks in CS: GO – Danger Zone?

The following ranks are only valid in the Danger Zone battle royale mode. Players are scattered across the map with no equipment or money and need to  survive. Additionally, the titular Danger Zone shrinks, reducing the players’ room for maneuver and forcing them into confrontation. The one who stays on his feet the longest wins.


Below you will find all ranks in the Danger Zone.

  1. Lab Rat I
  2. Lab Rat II
  3. Sprinting Hare I
  4. Sprinting Hare II
  5. Wild Scout I
  6. Wild Scout II
  7. Wild Scout Elite
  8. Hunter Fox I
  9. Hunter Fox II
  10. Hunter Fox III
  11. Hunter Fox Elite
  12. Timber Wolf
  13. Ember Wolf
  14. Wildfire Wolf
  15. The Howling Alpha

How to rank up in CS: GO?

To get your first rank, you need to get 10 wins in a given mode – the algorithm will then receive enough data to assign you a rank that corresponds to your skill. The rule of 10 won matches works separately for each of the competitive game modes. This means that in order to climb in each rank, you must win 10 matches in both the Tournament mode and the Wingman, as well as the Danger Zone.

If you’re new to CS: GO, Silver will likely be your first rank. However, this is not a rule. If the algorithm evaluating your skills determines that you are doing well enough, you will receive one of the higher ranks. However, don’t expect to get the coveted Global Elite rank, which is reserved for the best of the best. 

How do ranks work in CS: GO? It’s good to know that the rank system is dynamic. Just because you first landed in Silver II doesn’t mean you’ll stay in it forever. It is quite the opposite. The game will constantly evaluate your actions, which may result in you getting a higher rank or falling to a lower rank. It all depends on what you show during the matches. 

Related: Sons of the Forest – what do we know about The Forest 2?

The evaluation criteria themselves, unfortunately, remain unknown – the game’s producer, Valve, did not share this secret with players … and for good reason. If the rules of judging were open, there would certainly be entire teams playing strictly for pumping up ranks, which could disturb the balance and spoil the fun for other participants.

So how do you get higher and higher in CS: GO? First of all – play as a team. Counter-Strike established, through trial and error, that while the system takes into account your individual performance in a match, what matters most is winning the match. We can only win in one way – by cooperating with other members of our team. Only then is the number of kills, assists or planting or disarming the explosive assessed. 

Also important are the MVP (Most Valuable Player) titles won, which are awarded after each match to the best player. Typically, CS: GO estimates that a series of about 4-5 wins is needed to reach the next rank.

Why don’t you rank in CS: GO?

First of all, you won’t have a rank at the beginning of your adventure with the game. You will have no ranks prior to playing the 10 winning positioning matches in a given mode.

Not only beginners may ask themselves, “Why don’t I rank in CS: GO?”. It’s worth knowing that all ranks in CS: GO also disappear when you take a long break from playing. After 30 days of inactivity in the game, your ranks disappear and are reallocated after you play one match in that game mode. You won’t always get the same rank you had before – it all depends on the skill level you displayed in the match.

Is it worth having the Global Elite rank in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive?

The Global Elite rank is reserved for the best of the best in CS: GO. If you manage to get it, you will be proud of the fact that you are in less than 1% of the best players in the world, and their total number is estimated at around 600,000 per month. 

Related: All GTA 5 cheats in one place. Cheats for all platforms – PC, PS and Xbox

Is it worth reaching this level? If you care about prestige and satisfaction with your own achievements – yes. On the other hand, after reaching the mythical rank of Global Elite, there is nothing else to strive for, which may be demotivating for some. As such, whether it is worth becoming a master in Counter-Strike depends on your personal goals and preferences.

However, it is definitely worth having a rank assigned in CS: GO. They reflect the operation of the algorithm that evaluates the players’ skills. They were created in order to select members of individual teams during the ranking games in such a way that they are as balanced as possible. Thanks to this, the chances of you encountering opponents who will steamroll you and your team like a tank are relatively small (assuming that you do not encounter a so-called smurfs). What’s more, ranks are also a motivation to constantly work on your skills and climb up the ladder. 

After all, nothing is as pleasing as the icon of the desired rank next to your nickname in the results table, right?

Main picture source: Valve / steam.com



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.