1. Scroll
  2. /
  3. Technology
  4. /
  5. Harry Potter – all books and movies in order


29.07.2022 00:12

Harry Potter – all books and movies in order

Movies and series

Harry Potter is a cult character that probably needs no introduction. As many as 8 films were made on the basis of 7 novels. What is the order in which to watch them? Watch a movie first or read books? We advise!

Harry Potter – the phenomenon of a series of novels and films. Where did it come from?

Harry Potter is a series of novels written by JK Rowling, published between 1997 and 2007, which from 2001 to 2011 were screened by Warner Bros. Pictures. The most important theme of the series is the fight between the wizarding community and the sorcerer Lord Voldemort. The whole saga has a huge fan base, each of them would like to get a letter from Hogwarts and learn magic at school. In addition, the series is about friendship and growing up, so younger readers can easily identify with the characters. The magical, mysterious atmosphere of the production immediately captivates the viewer and makes both books and movies appropriate for children and adults.

Harry Potter Books – Reading Order

If you want to start your adventure with Harry Potter and would like to read all 7 parts, you need to know that you should read them in the order in which they were published. See what the different parts of JK Rowling’s novel are called and what they are.

Related: Best movies of all time – a list of must-watch cinema classics

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

The action of the first Harry Potter book begins before Harry finds out that he is a wizard and ends up at Hogwarts. Here he met two of his best friends – Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger. The main plot is the titular Philosopher’s Stone, which the evil wizard Voldemort wants to use to create the Elixir of Life. Young friends decide to thwart his plans.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

At Hogwarts , the Chamber of Secrets is opened and the terrifying Slytherin Monster emerges. If the situation does not calm down – the school will be closed. Harry and his friends decide to do what he can to prevent this from happening.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

A dangerous murderer, Sirius Black, escapes from the prison of wizards, Azkaban. In the world of magic, this causes a panic as he is considered a madman and traitor to the Potter family. It is suspected that he will want to kill Harry in revenge, but the truth turns out to be completely different.


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

There is an interschool Triwizard Tournament at Hogwarts, but something is happening that has never happened before. The title Goblet of Fire assigned only 3 players to the tournament, but this time it also chose the fourth. You can guess that it is Harry Potter. There are 3 difficult, magical tasks ahead of him.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

While on vacation, Harry and his cousin Dudley are attacked by dementors. To chase them away, the wizard uses magic, which is forbidden outside of Hogwarts until the age of 17. He has to face the consequences. A new teacher appears at the school of magic to make Harry’s life difficult, and the reborn Voldemort plans another attack on the boy.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

The sixth part of the Harry Potter saga tells the story of Lord Voldemort’s life. Dumbledore gives Harry information about the wizard so that he can destroy him. During this time, the Death Eaters terrorize the world of magic and wizards, making them feel nowhere safe – not even at Hogwarts. Harry learns about horcruxes, the magical objects that contain the particles of Voldemort’s soul.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

In the final installment of the series, the story revolves mainly around attempts to destroy all Horcruxes created by the Dark Lord. Harry and his friends try to find them because destroying them would deprive Voldemort of immortality.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

The sequel to the series was released in the form of a script. It was presented at the Palace Theater in London. It tells about the life of an adult Harry Potter, who works at the Ministry of Magic, and his children. The main thread are, among others, adventures of young wizards in the school of magic.

The order of watching the Harry Potter films

In order not to have any problems with understanding the events in the film, you should watch them in the same order as the books were published, that is:

  1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part. 1
  8. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part. 2

Harry Potter – differences between movies and books

The Harry Potter film series has the same chronology as the book version. The only difference is that the last novel has been divided into two parts on the screen. In addition, the paper version also includes the “cursed child”, which was only staged as a play in the theater. There are also differences between the books and their screen adaptations, but they do not have a significant impact on the plot. These are inconsistencies such as, for example, a different hair color, a different arrangement of events or the omission of an event that appeared in the book in the film.

Harry Potter – movie or book first? Where to start?

Where to start the Harry Potter story cycle is a moot point among fans. The book has more details that don’t necessarily show up in the movie. This one, however, has a unique atmosphere, achieved thanks to the wonderful set design and acting, which makes it impossible to tear yourself away from the production. So it is impossible to clearly answer the question of what to choose at the beginning of your adventure with Harry Potter – a book or a movie. However, it will be a good way to read the first part of Harry Potter first, and then, for comparison, watch its screen adaptation. You can then see the differences carefully and decide whether you prefer to watch the movie version of the wizard’s adventures, or if you prefer the atmosphere of reading the book.

Harry Potter as a “hero” of pop culture – the world of Harry and other goods

The phenomenon of Harry Potter had a huge impact on pop culture. The wizard’s motif appeared on a huge number of different products. Starting from clothes and jewelry, through school gadgets, room furnishings, to computer games, toys and sweets that appeared in the film (e.g. Bean Boozled beans or chocolate frogs). The stores also offer gadgets such as wands, potions and Quidditch candles. As a memento of the Harry Potter story, London’s King’s Cross station features a piece of a luggage trolley that is “stuck” in the wall between the Muggle and Wizarding worlds.

We hope that you have better understood the Harry Potter phenomenon thanks to our article. If you already know the order in which to start with books and movies, you can easily start your adventure with the world of magic and wizardry.

Related: Bond, James Bond – all films with the Agent 007 – viewing order and the most important information



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.